14 April, 2020 1PM Mountain Time (2PM Central, 3PM Eastern US and Canada)
Nicholas Schulte
Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research (INSTAAR), University of Colorado

Using diatom DNA in environmental assessments: techniques and timeline to operation

Description: DNA-based identification of diatoms has been proposed and, in some places, implemented as a cost-, time-, and expertise-effective alternative to traditional morphological methods for environmental assessment. We will describe the different techniques available (mainly a method called metabarcoding), outline recommendations for collecting DNA samples, review research applying DNA-based identifications to assessments, and discuss implementation of these methods.

Target Audience: This presentation will be directed at managers who are looking for information on the application of molecular sequencing of environmental DNA (eDNA) and bulk DNA in environmental assessments. The talk will cover the current state of the field and the process to obtain organismal information from sequences.

https://diatoms.org/news/diatom-web-academy-1